top of page
Search

What Panic Attack Really Feels Like


Like everybody else, my high school life was about attending classes, playing sports, looking forward to graduation and going to college. Everything was normal until one afternoon. When I was in my American History class thinking about the notes I was taking, all of the sudden, my brain felt like it was going numb. My body felt weak and I had an overwhelming sense that something was wrong. I felt like I was dying. I was terrified. I had no idea what was happening to me and why I had the strongest urge to run out of the classroom. And I ended up walking out of class and going to an empty room where I stood there, dizzy and in shock until I called my mom and had to explain that I felt like I was going to die. I soon knew that I experienced, what is called, a panic attack.

There was seemingly no trigger to this panic, and it sprung upon me without warning. Ever since that day, for about a year, I would go to school having upwards of 10 panic attacks a day and in constant fear of when the next one would come. It was debilitating. I started attending therapy, and five years after that first panic attack, I can confidently say that I have successfully managed my panic disorder.

This is the true story about what a panic attack really feels like. Unfortunately, there are many people who have experienced similar situations to mine; panic disorder is real and affect millions of people everyday.

What is Panic Disorder?

Panic disorder is a type of anxiety disorder classified as someone experiencing an intense fear when there is no present danger. Often someone experiencing a panic attack will feel as though they have no control over how they feel or when the episodes occur. People who suffer multiple panic attacks develop a fear of another episode. The fear can be so great that people with panic disorder do not feel comfortable leaving their homes. This disorder can become debilitating to those who suffer from it.

People who are experiencing a panic attack may feel:

  • Pounding heart rate, heart palpitations, racing heart

  • Chest pain

  • Trembling

  • Dizziness/ lightheadedness

  • Fear of dying

  • Numbness or tingling

How to Help Someone Having a Panic Attack:


Everyone experiences panic attacks differently, but you can help someone experiencing a panic attack. From my personal experience, here are some ways:


    1. Talk to them: A great way to help someone through a panic attack is to simply talk with them. Whether it is on the phone or in person, you can be there to let them know they will be okay. You can even do breathing exercises with them.

    2. Ask if they need anything. I would have people fetch me some ice water or ice cubes to help my body return to a calm state.

    3. Go with them to a calm and quiet area. If you are in a loud and stimulating area, you can offer to walk with them somewhere else. I have found cold empty restrooms to be a calming place to process.

    4. Don’t panic. Typically panic attacks will come in a wave, which means the panic will pass. It helps a lot to have someone remaining calm. That being said, do not hesitate to seek help if the person experiencing the panic attack needs medical attention, such as if they are fainting.

    5. Know their triggers and how to help. If you have a friend or loved one who you know has panic disorder, ask them directly what you could do to help them in the event of one. This will allow them to explain their disorder to you, and will also make them feel validated and cared for.


Anxiety-Reduced Services:

You don’t know how and when you or someone you know experiences a panic attack. By understanding the signs and how to handle the situation when it happens, it will be less scary.

1 view

コメント


bottom of page